Rhubarb, Orange and Vanilla Jam

Last year I was given a huge bag of fresh rhubarb from Izzys gran but I’m not really a massive fan of it on its own. I made some of it into a crumble and then I decided to make the rest into jam but I didn’t want plain old rhubarb jam so I used vanilla infused caster sugar and orange zest & juice to make it extra special.

You will need:

1kg of fresh rhubarb, washed and diced
100ml of orange juice
100ml of water
Zest of 1 Orange
400grams of vanilla infused caster sugar or 400g of caster sugar and seeds of 1 vanilla pod

Combine all ingredients in a heavy based saucepan over a medium heat for approximately 50 minutes or until thick. Ladle into sterile jars and seal.The jam will thicken more as it cools.

Store in the refrigerator.

If giving jam as a gift to friends/family or in a hamper as I do at Christmas time why not get some special labels made up to make it look extra special? Labels

Hampers I made last year, including home made jam!

20130508-094342.jpg

*This post contains paid content

Leave a Reply

