Oaty delicious flapjacks

I love flapjacks. I used to really like the ones made by the dinner ladies at my secondary school and I have tried and failed to recreate them many times.

I really like these: Diggers and they always go down well with family and friends but today well I wanted old skool (literally) flapjacks. Chewy, gooey and oaty bites of yum. Most flapjack recipes call for brown sugar which I didn’t have so I decided to just try and create my own with ordinary granulated white sugar.

Flapjacks

You will need:

Approx 350g of porridge oats ( I used rolled Scottish oats)
175g butter
175g sugar
3.5tbsp of golden syrup
Any additional extras like choc chips/coconut/nuts/fruit

Preheat your oven to gas mark 3. Grease an ovenproof dish.

Melt your butter, sugar and syrup in saucepan on your hob slowly and then stir in your oats until thoroughly combined. Spoon into your dish using the back of spoon to level out.

Bake for approx 20 mins then leave to cool slightly in dish, cut into squares while still warm but not hot. Then just try to stop yourself eating them one by one. Keep in an airtight container.

Melting pot:

20130421-212259.jpg

I used a foil tray from Asda – I often use these for traybakes/flapjacks and I normally reuse them:

20130421-212320.jpg

I couldn’t wait for them to cool:

20130421-212419.jpg

Don’t you just want a bite?

20130421-212449.jpg

I kept mine plain but I bet these would be amazing with choc chips…drool.

Hope you enjoy trying these! So simple but a real crowd pleaser I assure you 🙂

Leave a Reply

