The Fifty Breads Challenge

I love bread. I love homemade bread even more. The smell of it baking in the oven is unbeatable.
I’ve decided that this year I want a lot more of the bread is going to be homemade, to ensure that I stick to this I have set myself a challenge which I would love you to join in. I want to bake 50 different types of bread this year. From Brioche to Baguette and Foccacia to Flatbreads. Sweet, savoury and special. Bread for toast and bread to wow.

I have a short list of breads I really want to bake soon:

* foccacia
* brioche
* sourdough
* plaited loaf
* bagels (eek)
* pitta

I’d love you to send me recipes of breads that you love and tips for making them extra special.
If you want to join in but can’t commit to baking 50 – it is a lot of bread! Then how about making 10 or 20 different breads this year? There are no strict rules this is about fun and increasing your knowledge in the kitchen.

To kick us off I made Soda Bread with sundried tomatoes and herbs, I based the recipe on Paul Hollywoods recipe in How to Bake:

You will need:

500g plain white flour (extra for dusting)
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
3/4 of a tsp salt
400 ml of warmed milk with a tsp of lemon juice and left to stand for 5 mins or 400ml buttermilk
2tbsp of sundried tomatoes
1tbsp of dried mixed herbs

Preheat oven to 200 C.

Put all dry ingredients in a bowl and mix well, stir in milk (or buttermilk) to form a very sticky dough. Tip dough onto floured surface – I had to pull mine out of bowl with well floured hands. Quickly shape into a bowl then flatten slightly with back of hand.
Place dough on baking tray lined with baking parchment, mark into quarters cutting deeply into bread almost but not quite through to base – I used the floured handle of a wooden spoon to mark.
Bake for 30 mins until its cooked through. It should be golden brown and sound hollow when tapped on the base. Leave to cool on a rack and eat within 24hrs for best taste!

20130114-205608.jpg

Super tasty and easy recipe for my first bake. Very excited for next week. What should I make next?

I have now added a link and you can also hash tag your blog posts or pics if you don’t blog as #50breadschallenge on twitter.

Thank you.

Is it sad that I’m excited about this??

Happy baking xx

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “The Fifty Breads Challenge

  1. Pingback: The Fifty Breads Challenge. No.2 – Guinness bread rolls | Munchies & Munchkins

  2. Pingback: Comforting chicken casserole | Munchies & Munchkins

Leave a Reply

