So you had a bad day…so cook?

I’ve had a bad day in work. Well I’ve had a bad few weeks in work. I guess going back to work after maternity leave really is difficult. It’s hard to explain but woah I’ve been grumpy and I imagine hard to live with. Sorry to my very lovely man.

Today I came home in miserable mode. I decided I couldn’t be bothered to cook which was silly as I always relax a bit while cooking so after a short period of feeling sorry for myself I started pulling together the ingredients for today’s meal on the menu planner board : Thai Green curry. This isn’t just any Thai curry ( she says in an M&S style husky voice) in fact it’s not really a Thai curry at all buts it’s tasty all the same so read on if you please.

I loveThai green curry.. As long as its not too hot. I love massaman curry. I also love a dish I tried (curry/stew) in The Gambia called domodah which is peanut based and delicious.

The dish I made tonight is a combination of all 3.. It’s fiery and has Thai green curry paste and chillies. It has coconut milk,potato (well sweet potato) and peanuts-like massaman curry and it has a smooth peanut butter flavoured sauce like Domodah. As with most of my recipes it’s simple and it’s reasonably cheap but you will feel like you are eating something a bit different ..exotic even.

And then the rice.. I’m sure we have all botched at least one batch of rice. Whether its too dry, too sticky or just well bland. I have finally after a good few attempts found my favourite way to cook it.

You will need:

2 chicken breasts diced
1/2 large sweet potato diced
1/2 small red chilli diced (no seeds!)
2 tablespoons of Thai green curry paste ( I use kingfisher)
1 tin of coconut milk
Water ( I half fill the empty coconut tin with water)
2 tablespoons of peanut butter
1 head of broccoli chopped into smallish chunks
1 cup of rice
12-15 Cloves
Seasoning
Handful of chopped salted peanuts (optional)
Olive oil

Curry:
Brown your chicken in a little olive oil and then add your sweet potato and sauté until it begins to soften, add your chilli and curry paste with a little extra oil and leave to cook for a few minutes. Add your coconut milk, water and peanut butter and give it good stir. Leave to bubble away over a low heat for approximately 20 mins, add your broccoli and leave for an extra 5 minutes. Have a taste and season as required.

20121211-222719.jpg

20121211-222756.jpg

Rice:
Add 1 cup of rice to 2 cups of water ( I use a cup measuring thingy which my OH bought me after I kept moaning about converting recipes) throw in a handful of cloves (if you like them) some seasalt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat immediately and simmer with the lid on until nearly all the water has absorbed. Remove from heat, keep lid on and let it cook in its own steam for about 10 mins. Fork through for delicious fluffy rice.

Serve your curry atop your fluffy fragrant rice with a sprinking of peanuts, nothing else is required.

Be warned this is a little fiery, it’s not too bad but if you don’t like heat then reduce the curry paste or drop the chillies.

This is one recipe I would love to hear that you have tried as I have pretty much made it up on the go!

20121211-222830.jpg

Leave a Reply

